Parthenon Frieze Logo
EKT logo YSMA logo
Button for smaller text Button for normal text Button for bigger text
Change language to greek
East Frieze
The east frieze is comprised of eight or nine blocks (research has shown that VII and VIII formed a single block) that are considerably longer than the blocks of the other sides. The middle block V is 4.50 m. in length, whereas the corner blocks are narrow because they are in fact the narrow ends of block I of the north frieze and block XLVII of the south frieze. The surviving blocks and fragments are scattered among various museums: in the Acropolis are blocks II and VI, in the British Museum blocks I, III-V, VIII and in the Louvre block VII. In addition a number of fragments are in the British Museum and others are in the Archaeological Museum of Palermo. In contrast to the west frieze, the east frieze has a certain symmetry of composition, since it is the focal point of the processions of the other sides.

Link to
(flash version)
Subject Category
Sacrificial procession

Gods & Godesses

The peplos scene